About us

We are Breadalbane Academy Parent Council. Our job is to provide parents and carers with a voice in the school and a way to get involved in their children’s education.

We do this by carrying out the four main roles of a parent council:

  • supporting the school in its work with pupils.
  • representing the views of parents.
  • promoting contact between school and parents.
  • reporting to the parents (keeping you informed and involved).

Attend a meeting

The parent council holds meetings once a month, at the Breadalbane Community Campus. All meetings start at 6:30pm. Meeting dates for the 2016-2017 school year are:

  • Tuesday 30 August
  • Wednesday 28 September
  • Thursday 27 October
  • Tuesday 29 November
  • Wednesday 25 January
  • Thursday 23 February
  • Tuesday 28 March
  • Wednesday 26 April
  • Thursday 25 May

For more information or to get involved, email chairperson@breadalbaneparents.com.

The ASN Parents’ Group

The ASN Parents’ Group provides help and advice to parents of children with additional support needs. Meetings are held at the school at 6:30pm. Dates for 2016-2017 are:

  • Thursday 1 September
  • Thursday 29 September
  • Thursday 27 October
  • Thursday 24 November
  • Thursday 15 December
  • Thursday 26 January
  • Thursday 23 February
  • Thursday 30 March
  • Thursday 25 May
  • Thursday 22 June

For more information or to get involved, email asngroup@breadalbaneparents.com.

The fundraising and opportunities group (FOG)

The fundraising and opportunities group (FOG) raises money for clubs, sports, extra-curricular activities, and anything else that gives Breadalbane kids the chance to expand their horizons, have fun, and build on what they learn in the classroom.

Besides being involved in fundraising, FOG also looks for other opportunities for parents and the wider community to get involved with the school, and vice versa.

The dates for 2016-2017 FOG meetings are still being confirmed. We’ll post them here soon.

For more information or to get involved, email fundraising@breadalbaneparents.com.

What the parent council isn’t for

Some things are not normally the business of the parent council. This is particularly true of anything that might touch upon confidential information about a teacher or pupil.

If you have an issue with a named individual, teacher or pupil, the proper thing to do is to make a private appointment with the appropriate person in the school, for instance your child’s form teacher, the head of department, or the head teacher.

For more information on parent councils and what they do, see the Scottish Schools (Parental involvement) Act 2006